Good Bye 2013…..Hello 2014

I type this as I wait for the year to end, 2013 to give way to 2014 and think back on the year that was and the promise of a new year.

2013 has been a year of ups and downs and my prayer for 2014 is to have a more stable year, with more ups than downs and a gentler trajectory to the year than 203 was.

2013 for me started badly. I was depressed and despondent, having been out of a job for about a year then. I had rashly left my previous position, thinking it would not be so difficult to get a new one. I was so wrong, so by the time 2013 rolled, I was reaching the depths of my despondency, thinking I won’t get another position. Then came the interview call for my current position. I didn’t have anything better to do that day and went for the interview anyway. I was not too hung up on the position as it
was a contract one, and I was looking for a full time one. But they liked me so much that for the first time in my life, I was in a superior position during an interview. So I accepted and this started my year at this MNC. It’s been a good year so far, colleagues and my boss have been good. After a long time, I have been appreciated for what I’ve been doing. Sometimes wonder how certain people reach positions of being other people’s bosses when they clearly have no idea on how to motivate and retain talent! Guess all those out there may you glad for people like my current reporting manager. My yearly appraisal is coming up soon, so we’ll know exactly how we’ll I’ve done, but if I my half year appraisal is the benchmark, then I should not do too badly šŸ™‚

The children also have had a mixed year. The girl did fairly well, even getting a decent score in her most dreaded subject, Hindi, while the boy continued his failing streak! They were streamed at the end of this year, with the boy going to the third best class (he would have made it to the second best if he had just passed Hindi) and the girl to the fourth best. Hope they both do better in 2014 than in 2013. I’ve started them on private tuitions for Maths and maybe Science, let’s see if this makes any difference to their scores in P5

My personal goals for this year are all health-based ones. I hope this is the year that I finally turn around my life. I’ve been overweight all my life, except for a short time when I was at my optimal weight. So this year I plan on walking 30 minutes daily, and starting from week 1, will run for a minute and increase that by 1 minute every week. That week around week 30 (just around august I think) I should be running all 30 mins. Once I can do that for a month consistently, I’ll increase that by 3-5 mins every week. Hopefully in the next few years I can run my first marathon šŸ™‚

Other health related goals will include taking care of my diet and more care about my skin….

I also want to start making time for my interests and hobbies, one of which is writing (both this blog plus other writing). I guess I won’t be able to do much until the children complete their PSLE, but baby steps…

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year and hoping 2014 will be brilliant for you!!

20131231-191511.jpg

One thought on “Good Bye 2013…..Hello 2014

  1. Pingback: 2014 Reflections | Memories and Such

Leave a Reply

