Thai Style Inspired Green Apple Salad

I haven’t been cooking in a long time, in fact ever since my present helper came on board – 2 years ago! When she takes her weekly off on Sundays, I usually just put together something, nothing that I take effort to make, or make old favourites that everyone likes. So me cooking this dish is unusual in the current scenario.

I usually have a salad with every meal and was getting tired of the same ole, same ole vegetable salad! Then saw some green apples at home and went online to see if there were any recipes that I could use or adapt. I came across this one and felt this was something I could adapt for us. So here’s my version of a Thai Style Inspired Green Apple Salad

IMG_3386[1]

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sized green apples
  • 8 strawberries
  • 2 smallish red onions
  • A handful of raw peanuts
  • A handful of raw cashewnuts
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt, sugar and lemon juice to taste
  • A bit of freshly ground black pepper

Method:

Cut the red onions into thin slices. Heat oil in a pan and first fry the peanuts and cashew nuts till they are crisp. Take out and drain in kitchen paper. In the same oil, fry the onion till they become brown and crisp. Drain on kitchen tissues.

Chop the strawberries into halves and chop them lengthwise. Make thinish slices of the green apple, and chop it into matchsticks. Add the sugar and salt and keep aside.

Just before eating, add the onions and nuts to the salad. Season with lemon juice and freshly ground pepper and enjoy!!

We ate this with Moong Dal Khichadi (recipe coming soon)

Note: Make this salad as close to the eating as possible as the green apples will turn brown otherwise. Also, if the green apples are sour, you can skip the lemon juice altogether.

Verdict: Yummy and different from what I usually make. My version was a tad sour, so when I make it again, I will either go easy on the lemon juice or omit it.

2 thoughts on “Thai Style Inspired Green Apple Salad

Leave a Reply

