Recipe: Mango Milkshake

Summer, to me, is mango season! In Mumbai, right from around end April, you see, hear and smell the king of fruits – the Alphonso Mango. While I am not a big mango lover, everyone else in my family is and my childhood summer memories are filled with this fruit.

My paternal grandmother was a huge fan of the alphonso mango or hapus as it is called in Marathi (the state language of Mumbai, where I grew up). My paternal grandparents moved to Bangalore when I was quite young, initially to help out my uncle (my dad’s brother) who had moved there for work. Then, after he married, they stayed on, because they loved the gentler pace of life that Bangalore had then as well as the cooler climate. But my ammama (my grandma) missed some parts of Mumbai, a city she came as a young bride and had stayed for more than 30 years before moving to Bangalore.

So every summer, during our holidays, we’d make our annual trip to Bangalore. Along with clothes and other assorted items, we’d take a huge ass carton of the best alphonso mangoes we could get. We even had our own mango seller, who, every summer would bring us a nicely packed carton of mangoes, all chosen to ripen at exactly the right time, which would be just after we reach ed Bangalore. And once we reached our home there, my grandma would gorge on this delicacy.

Mangoes are heaty, and so the rule in my home was to drink a glass of milk after each mango session. Some mangoes used to be made into pulp to be drank with milk, especially if the mangoes were ripening and would go bad. Last week at the baby naming ceremony we were given a couple of mangoes and so I decided to make them into milkshakes for BB & GG for them to drink as their after school drink. The mangoes we got were not top quality ones (not alphonso), hence not as sweet and so I had to use sugar, but if you have sweet mangoes, please omit sugar completely. This is perfect for summer, especially if you refrigerate it before serving.

Mango Milkshake

Ingredients:

  • 2 mangoes, peeled and chopped
  • Sugar, as required
  • 5-6 pieces of cashewnuts
  • A pinch of saffron
  • 2.5 cups skim milk

Method:

  • In a small bowl, heat up a couple of tablespoons of milk till warm and add the cashewnuts and saffron to it and keep aside for 10 minutes.
  • In a blender or mixer, add the chopped mangoes, sugar (if using), milk and the cashewnut-saffron mixture and blend until it forms a smooth paste. Add the skim milk to help it form the paste.
  • Add the rest of the milk and chill in the fridge for a while before serving.
  • Enjoy delicious, chilled mango milkshake!

One thought on “Recipe: Mango Milkshake

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Mango Salsa | Memories and Such

Leave a Reply

