2016 Week 33 Update

This week just flew past. Having a public holiday in the middle helped, I guess!

I’ve been feeling quite off this week, but I just can’t put my finger on why I feel like this. Headaches have also been plaguing me this week. I feel I was mildly depressed, and hopefully, I’ve managed to pull myself out of it. Job search is also at a standstill, and as the days pass, the less I feel confident of landing one soon.

Singapore celebrated its 51st National Day this week and I enjoyed watching the show on TV. I’ve always been drawn to national day celebrations, even as a child growing up in India and would pester my dad to let me watch the Republic Day parades, which no one else was interested in watching. The pomp and grandeur of the show always made me feel happy and when the national anthem was invariably played, I always get goosebumps!

Singapore also had another bit of fantastic news to round off the week. Singapore swimmer Joseph Schooling upset the ‘greatest Olympian of all time’ Michael Phelps to win the 100 meters butterfly finals at the Rio Olympics to win the Gold and at the same time, created a new Olympic Games record of 50.39 seconds. This was Singapore’s first ever gold medal in the history of the Olympic games and the first time the national anthem was played during the victory ceremony.I was at the doctor on Saturday morning for my monthly medication and blood test and wanted to get home to watch the final. I didn’t get out of there on time, but by the time I got my medication, it was time for the match, so I, along with all the others in the clinic, watched the match with bated breath. We were all rooting for Schooling

I was at the doctor on Saturday morning for my monthly medication and blood test and wanted to get home to watch the final. I didn’t get out of there on time, but by the time I got my medication, it was time for the match, so I, along with all the others in the clinic, watched the match with bated breath. We were all rooting for Schooling and when he was first at the end of the 50 meters, it seemed that Singapore was destined for a podium finish. But when he came in first, almost a second ahead of the three silver medalists (including Phelps), everyone in the clinic was shouting, so much that the doctors came out to celebrate with us! I rushed home to see the victory ceremony and when Majulah Singapura was played, I literally got goosebumps!

 

Today, my country of birth, India, celebrates her 69th Independence Day. Wishing all Indians, both in India and elsewhere a very Happy Independence Day. May the country grow from strength to strength.

 

Have a joyous and productive week folks!

Leave a Reply

