Recipe: Instant Raw Mango Pickle

instant-mango-pickle-4Last year when I was in India, my mum made this and I really fell in love with the recipe. I was actually eating it like a snack, it was that tasty. I saw how she made it and came back and replicated a couple of times at home. I made this recently and thought to share it with everyone.

It’s a very simple and easy recipe with all ingredients (except the mangoes) which can be found in your kitchen. It also hardly takes any time to make, with only the cutting the mangoes the slightly tedious task.

This pickle stays good for a couple of weeks in the fridge, but it’s best to eat it soon. It also does not have any curing time, unlike traditional pickles.

instant-mango-pickle-1Instant Raw Mango Pickle

Ingredients:

  • 1 green, raw mango, chopped into tiny pieces
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1/2 tsp asafoetida
  • 1 tsp sugar (optional)
  • 2 tbsps gingelly oil
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds

Method:

  • Wash and dry the mango and chop it into very small pieces
  • In a large pan, add the chopped mangoes, salt, sugar (if using), red chilli powder, turmeric powder and 1/4 tsp asafoetida and mix well.
  • In a smaller pan, heat the gingelly oil and when the oil starts smoking, put the mustard seeds and let them pop. Then add the asafoetida and pour the hot oil into the mango mixture. Mix thoroughly and store in a glass jar in the fridge.

instant-mango-pickle-2

instant-mango-pickle-5

instant-mango-pickle-3

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Instant Raw Mango Pickle

  1. Yumm! My mum does it in mustard oil (heat it till it is smoking hot, switch off stove and add spices and mix). Also, try adding fennel seeds and methidana!
    I do a similar version with green apples, it’s easier to get apples anytime and trust me it comes out so good :). you reminded me I have to make it again this weekend!

    • Green apples sound interesting, I should try that. In my latest version, I put in a pinch of methi powder and the taste was very good. I’ll try adding fennel too and see how it tastes.

      Guess this is a common recipe in India , people use the most common oil in the state….

Leave a Reply

